Related Information Examples & Tutorials
Membership with Collect! provides value in software upgrades, discount pricing for additional seats, modules and technical service, downloadable extras and full access to all the Member Center resources.
“ I use many vendors in my business and there is only one that I would never consider changing and that is Collect! ” Norma B.

Archive

The Archive Menu provides commands for archiving records or restoring records to your working database. Select Tools from the top menu bar and then select Archive to access these functions.

tip.gif If you intend to archive accounts, you should ensure that all financials are finalized on the account. If you archive an account that has not been reported on a month end statement, the financial information will not be included when you generate your statements.

tip.gif If you intend to archive accounts, you should ensure that you have recalculated any debtors that you intend to archive. You should also recalc the client. Please be aware that if you press RECALC on the the Client form, it does not recalc the underlying debtors. If you archive accounts that have not been properly recalculated, the Client totals may appear incorrect in your working database.

When archiving or restoring accounts, Collect! will show you exactly how many accounts and related records are actually being archived or restored.


Restoring Archived Accounts

If you cancel the Archive operation (by hitting ESC), Collect! will complete whatever record it is archiving or restoring before escaping from the Archive process.

Archive This Record

Select Archive this Record to remove an account from your working database and store it in the Archive database.

This is useful for accounts that you are no longer working. The information remains visible but the record is removed from the indexing and maintenance chains. This optimizes system performance and speeds up running utilities. The information is still available if you need to refer to it or to begin to work the account again.

To archive records, you must:

1. Be actually viewing a record that has not been previously archived.

or

2. Have the record(s) highlighted or tagged in a list.

tip.gif If you attempt to archive an entire client after previously archiving one or several of the client's debtors, Collect! will now prompt you to unarchive the client's archived debtors before proceeding. Only then will you be able to proceed to archive the entire client. This ensures that only one copy of any client exists in the Archive database at any given time. This is necessary for properly restoring the client to the active database, if needed.


Archiving Client Prompt

Collect! will refresh the underlying Debtor or Client list immediately after you archive accounts.

Top of page.

Restore From Archive

Select Restore from Archive to bring this account back into your working database. This is a necessary step if you wish to modify or add to an archived account.

To restore archived records, you must:

1. Be actually viewing a record that was previously archived.

or

2. Have the archived record(s) highlighted or tagged in a list.

Collect! will refresh the underlying Debtor or Client list immediately after you restore accounts from the archive database.

Top of page.

Cancel Archive Or Restore

You can cancel the archiving or restoring process by hitting the ESC key. Collect! will finish processing whatever record it is on before escaping from the Archive process.

Top of page.

Archiving And Report Credit

If a Debtor in your system is still being reported to the Credit Bureaus and you attempt to include this account in an archiving procedure, Collect! will not archive the account.

A message will inform you of this.


Debtor with Report Credit Switched ON not Archived

Account details are written to the Collect! Application Log so that you can find the skipped Debtor or Debtors.


Application Log entry for failed archiving attempt

tip.gif Please complete all credit reporting before archiving accounts. Collect! does not report any accounts that are in the Archive database.

Top of page.

Troubleshooting

If you have deleted a Client from your working database, and that Client has archived debtors, you will receive a message when you try to run Restore.


Warning During Restore

Select OK to recreate the Client in your working database. This recreated Client will contain only the Debtors that you just restored from the Archive database. The information in the Client form will be whatever was archived originally. If you made changes to the Client in your working database, before you deleted it, these will not be restored if they did not exist in the Archive database client "placeholder."

Top of page.

Archiving In The Scheduler

You can use Collect!'s Task Scheduler to automatically archive inactive accounts. There are several options for setting your criteria when you configure the Archive Accounts task.

Please refer to Help topic, Archive Accounts in Scheduler for details.

Top of page.

See Also

- Database Topics
- Archiving Topics

Top of page.

Was this page helpful? Do you have any comments on this document? Can we make it better? If so how may we improve this page.

Please click this link to send us your comments: helpinfo@collect.org

Collection Advisor
HIPAA One® Certified Seal
ACA Member DBA RMA